Ir para o conteúdo
19 Maio 2021

Tamara Hussong Milagre

Tamara Hussong Milagre is the founder and president of the patient association EVITA – Cancro Hereditário (=AVOID Hereditary Cancer), supporting families affected by Hereditary Cancer Syndromes since 2011. Since 2017, she is also a European Patient Advocate Group representative at European Reference Network GENTURIS (Genetic Tumor Risk Syndromes), compromised in the thematic group about Hereditary Breast and Ovarian Cancer HBOC and in the taskforce for Education, Training and Development.

She is actively involved in cancer research. Besides further education, she performed in 2017 the Master Class of the European School of Oncology ESO for leading patient advocates and turned later into a Patient Expert by undergoing the EUPATI course which taught her the importance and impact of patient involvement in the research and development of medicines. She graduated in 2019 from EURORDIS Leadership School on Healthcare & Research, a capacity building programme for European Patient Advocacy Groups (ePAGs) on leadership, network management healthcare and research.

Tamara collaborates on a regular bases with the Portuguese medicines agency Infarmed and she is involved in the European Multi-Stakeholder Sounding Board of EFPIA Oncology Platform | “Time to Patient Access” Project. She integrates the working group dedicated to Hereditary Cancer Syndromes of the Portuguese Society of Oncology. She is member of several advisory boards, the advisory group of the Cancer Mission Portugal by AICIB, the advisory board of the Institute of EVIDENCE BASED HELATH ISBE and integrates international working groups regarding metastatic breast cancer and hereditary cancer. She is a frequent invited speaker on national and international health related conferences and is in constant contact with thousands of gene carriers all over the world by being a member and counselor of several international closed groups on social media (one of which > 10.000 members).

In November 2020 she received the Medal of Scientific Merit from the Portuguese Minister of Science.